BuddyPress Private Community Plugin

. September 7, 2010 . 0 Comments

This plugin, compatible up to: 3.0.1 makes your BuddyPress community private. So, only logged in members can view all areas of your community. If you visit the community when you’re logged out and your visiting a private page, then you’re redirected to a landing page of your choice. It defaults to the homepage.

You can set urls that are accessibly to non-logged in users using a special config php file – no database calls are needed.

By default the plugin blocks all of your widgets from being visible to logged out users. This stops possible private information from being seen when non-logged in users visit your site.

Also, all RSS feeds are blocked by default too. These default settings can be changed in a special config file – see FAQs for more information.

You might also like to change these setting in your WordPress and BuddyPress settings.

BP Setting: Hide admin bar for logged out users? = YES
WP Setting: Membership – Anyone can register? = NO
WP Privacy Settings: Site Visibility = I would like to block search engines, but allow normal visitors
If you’d like to ensure that users don’t stay logged into your site after a set period of inactivity (for security reasons), then you could use this plugin:

Inactivity Auto Sign Out plugin: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/inactivity-auto-sign-out-plugin/

Download and info:
http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/buddypress-private-community/

Category: BuddyPress

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *